Committees & Chairpersons

Three smiling staff membersWe invite all parents and teachers interested in being part of our dynamic PTA to attend our monthly meetings. Please contact the school office for more details.

Oak Knoll Middle School PTA Elected Officers

Susan Elrod, President
Heather Shurm, Vice President
Shannon Mitchum, Recording Secretary
Meredith Martin, Corresponding Secretary and Volunteer Coordinator
Jennifer Williams, Treasurer
Julie Hendricks, Community Programs and Landscaping
Mary Tyler, Hospitality
Dawnee Smith, Membership
Misty Snellings, Dance
Christi Dressler and Sharon Gatewood, Reflections
Erin Edmonds, Teacher Representative

Appointed Committee Chairpersons

Community Programs

Chairperson: Julie Hendricks
The Community Programs Committee manages the many community programs that offer fundraising opportunities including Box Tops for Education, Kroger Plus Rewards Card and Labels for Education, Food Lion Shop & Share Classroom Rewards, BJ’s memberships, spirit nights at local restaurants, Martin’s A+ Rewards, Target Red Card, and many more.

County Council

Chairperson: Vacant
The county council advises OKMS PTA of necessary legislative actions, tracks requirements for county and other levels of the PTA Certificate of Excellence program, and assists with bylaws compliance.

Fundraising Committee

Chairperson: Meredith Martin
The fundraising committee, alongside the elected PTA president, manages and coordinates fundraising initiatives for the school.

Hospitality Committee

Chairperson: Mary Tyler
The hospitality committee manages and coordinates appreciation events for Oak Knoll administration, faculty, and various support staff.

Landscaping Committee

Gardening volunteerChairperson: Julie Hendricks
The landscaping committee coordinates garden and courtyard cleanup. It also works with staff to assign students to care for the front entrance planters and courtyard annuals.

Membership Committee

Chairperson: Dawnee Smith
The membership committee organizes, promotes, and monitors membership for the Oak Knoll PTA.

PTA Dance Committee

Co-Chairs: Misty Snellings
The PTA dance committee manages, coordinates, and supports school dances.

Reflections Committee

Co-chairs: Sharon Gatewood and Christina Dressler
The reflections committee manages, coordinates, and promotes the Reflections program entries, judging, and recognition ceremony, as well as other enrichment activities when applicable.

Volunteer Coordinator: Meredith Martin
The volunteer coordinator arranges for volunteers for the PTA and school-sponsored activities, monitors volunteer hours, and recognizes outstanding volunteers.

Teacher Representative: Erin Edmonds, 6th-grade language arts
The teacher representative helps relay information between the teachers and the PTA and sponsors the Knight Watch Student Reporter program.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.